View this email in your browser
You are receiving this email because of your relationship with Alpha Phi Omega. Please reconfirm your interest in receiving emails from us. If you do not wish to receive any more emails, you can unsubscribe here.

DATE: February 9, 2017

Active Chapters
Sectional Chairs
Operations Council
National Board of Directors
Recognized Alumni Associations

FROM: Robert M. Coop, PE, National Vice President

RE: 2017 Fall Pledge Class Namesake Call for Nominations

Each year, Alpha Phi Omega selects an honoree after whom to name our Fall Pledge Class, someone who reflects the Fraternity's Cardinal Principles of Leadership, Friendship and Service.

The criteria used in considering nominations are:

  • For nominees whose accomplishments are within the Fraternity (including chapter advisors), we are looking for those who have had a significant and positive impact at the regional level, at minimum, over a sustained period of time.
  • For those nominated for work outside of Alpha Phi Omega, we are looking for persons who have had a comparable impact at the national level, over a sustained period of time.

While deceased individuals and groups of people or organizations may be nominated, preference is given to living and individual nominees.

For your convenience, a listing of previous honorees is included at the bottom of this announcement.

The 2017 committee membership is: Rob Coop, Chair; Colin Milne, Membership Chair; Rashid Darden, Alumni Chair; Wendy Kane, Region VII Chair; Kim Yee, Region X Chair; and Dr. Fred Heismeyer, Past National President. The committee will review all applications and make a recommendation to the National Board of Directors at its June 2017 meeting.

Complete nominations must be received in the National Office no later than May 1, 2017. Electronic submissions may be made to

Nominations may be made by any Alpha Phi Omega brother or group (chapter, recognized alumni association, etc.) To be complete, a nomination must include the following information presented in this order:

  • An introductory cover letter signed by the individual or authorized representative of the group making the nomination
  • A brief biographical sketch of the individual or description of the organization being nominated and its work
  • Current contact information for the nominee, including address, telephone number(s) and e-mail address (if applicable), and contact name if nominee is a group or organization
  • A listing of the nominee's actions, accomplishments and life experiences that reflect the Fraternity's Cardinal Principles, and how those items indicate or demonstrate that the criteria have been met
  • Any additional information or comments the nominator wishes the committee to consider
  • Current contact information for the nominator, including telephone number(s) and e-mail address. For nominations submitted by chapters or other groups of people, names and contact information must be included for at least two representatives.

The 2017 Fall Pledge Class Namesake Committee looks forward to receiving your nominations.

Robert M. Coop, PE

National Vice President

1946 H. Roe Bartle 1981 Lawrence Hirsch
1947 J. Edgar Hoover 1982 George Cahill
1948 World War II Memorial 1983 R. Brittain
1949 James West 1984 Irwin Gerst
1950 Founders 1985 Phyllis Tenney
1951 Ray Wyland 1986 James Dean
1952 Arno Nowotny 1987 Paul Arend
1953 James Leedom 1988 Warren Luzadder
1954 Daniel Uyl 1989 Carl Long
1955 Dwight Eisnehower 1990 Lorin Jurvis
1956 Carlos Romulo 1991 Kenneth McDiffett
1957 Robert Baden-Powell 1992 Joseph Scanlon
1958 Albert Schweitzer 1993 Earle Herbert
1959 Arthur Schuck 1994 Alex Lewandowski
1960 Joseph Bruton, Jr. 1995 Philip Prince
1961 John Kennedy 1996 Thomas Kean
1962 H. Roe Bartle 1997 William Cunningham
1963 Arno Nowotny 1998 Joseph Kuchta
1964 Herbert Horton 1999 Stan Carpenter
1965 Lester Steig 2000 Bob Barkhurst
1966 Frank Horton 2001 Robert Hilliard
1967 James Lovell 2002 George Dacy
1968 Tom Galt 2003 Ray Hancock
1969 E. Ross Forman 2004 Togo West
1970 Sidney North 2005 Jerry Schroeder
1971 Glen Nygreen 2006 Kate Westlake
1972 Aubrey Hamilton 2007 John C. “Jack” Jadel
1973 J. Franklin McMullan 2008 Wilfred M. Krenek
1974 H. Roe Bartle 2009 Jack A. McKenzie
1975 Joseph Scanlon 2010 James C. Chandler
1976 Lucius Young 2011 C.P. Zlatkovitch
1977 Life Members 2012 Maura Harty
1978 Lewis Jones 2013 David A. Emery
1979 Howard Patton 2014 Kay Hairgrove Krenek
1980 Marion Disborough 2015 Philip M. Pfeffer
2016 Fred C. Heismeyer III, Ed.D.
This message was sent to by
1441 East 104th Street, Kansas City, Missouri, 64131

Unsubscribe from all mailings Unsubscribe | Manage Subscription | Forward Email | Report Abuse